Election tidbits in case you missed it : Morning Star

(Un)missed ministers

– Cabinet Office minister Ben Gummer, who wrote the Tory manifesto, loses Ipswich.

– Housing minister Gavin Barwell, Croydon Central.

– Health minister Nicola Blackwood, Oxford West and Abingdon.

– Health minister David Mowat, Warrington South.

– Financial minister Jane Ellison, Battersea. n City minister Simon Kirby, Brighton Kemptown.

– Children and families minister Edward Timpson, Crewe and Nantwich.

– Charities minister Rob Wilson, Reading East. n Growth minister James Wharton, Stockton South.

Biggest losers

– Tory MP Julian Brazier loses Canterbury, a seat held by the Conservatives for 99 years, to Labour.

– Former Lib Dem leader and deputy prime minister Nick Clegg loses Sheffield Hallam to Labour.

– SNP deputy leader Angus Robertson loses Moray to the Tories.

– Former SNP leader Alex Salmond loses Gordon to the Tories.

Near misses

– Home Secretary Amber Rudd hangs onto her Hastings & Rye seat by just 346 votes.

– Liberal Democrat leader Tim Farron narrowly keeps Westmorland & Lonsdale seat by 777 votes.

– Tory Zac Goldsmith retakes Richmond Park seat by just 45 votes.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s