PANIC ROOMS FOR MPS Politicians install panic rooms after death threats and reveal abuse including N-word and being called a ‘used tampon’ : Sun.

MPS revealed today that they have been forced to install panic rooms after receiving vile abuse – including being portrayed as a used tampon and being constantly called the N-word.

The scale of the attacks on politicians came as Theresa May announced a new probe on how to stop the abuse.

Andrew Percy MP

PA:Press Association
Andrew Percy MP revealed today he has installed a panic room because of repeated death threats

Tory MP Andrew Percy, who has converted to Judaism, revealed that he has had to install a panic room because of repeated death threats and blamed the hard-left Labour leadership for creating a climate of fear.

He said: “I’ve had death threats for a number of years, I have panic buttons, a restraining order against somebody.

“What is different about what is happening at this election, in which I was subjected to anti-Semitic abuse, my staff were spat at, my boards and property attacked, is it has been politically motivated.

“The elephant in the room here is it is being motivated by the language of some of our political leaders when they accuse people of one political side of murder, when they dehumanise them in the way that is happening at the moment.”

Labour’s Paula Sherriff added: “I’ve been an MP for more than two years and I can’t remember a single day when I haven’t had some kind of abuse such as death threats or a picture of me being mocked up as a used sanitary towel and so on.”

Diane Abbott described the incredible scale of racist abuse she receives as she argued that social media had made female MPs particularly vulnerable to abuse from trolls hiding behind the veil of anonymity.

Diane Abbott

Getty Images
Diane Abbott said she is constantly called the N-word by racist online trolls

The Shadow Home Secretary said: “In my case, the mindless abuse has been characteristically racist and sexist. I’ve had death threats, I’ve had people tweeting that I should be hung if ‘they could find a tree big enough to take the fat b***h’s weight’.

“There was an EDL-affiliated Twitter account #BurnDianeAbbott, I’ve had rape threats, described as a pathetic, useless fat black, piece of s***, ugly fat black b***h and n***** – n***** over and over again.”

Read More : Sun.

3 Comments

  1. I don’t see eye to eye with my Blairite MP, but it would never occur to me to send abuse or cause damage to her property.

    I can see where this is heading – more and more restrictions on social media. Already Facebook is censoring and not posting posts from some left-wing blogs.

    Like

Leave a Reply

